Skip to product information
1 of 3


Magyar Elektronikus Zene: Hungarian Electronic Music

01. Zoltán Pongrácz - Mariphonia (8:11) 1972
02. Zoltán Pongrácz - Egy Cisz-Dur Akkord Története (5:51) 1975
03. Peter Eötvös - Mese: Rövidített Változat (12:21) 1968

04. Iván Patachich - Magánhangzók: Ta Fonaenta (8:10) 1976
05. Iván Patachich - Hangzó Függvények: Funzione Acustica (10:39) 1975
06. Máté Victor & Péter Winkler - Viscositas (5:17) 1975

[CP 003 CD] Magyar Elektronikus Zene, Hungarian Electronic Music

Creel Pone

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

It’s Friday, and here’s another Creel Pone - I’m sensing a pattern here - this time a thoroughly fantastic comp running down the cream of the early-mid 70s Budapest crop. One of my all-time favorite pieces of Electronic Music is on here; Zoltan Pongracz’s “Egy Cisz-Dúr Akkord Története” - or, “The Story of a Chord in C Sharp Major” - which sounds like a Hammond Organ melting over a rainbow arc.

Other than the last piece - mired by a somewhat crippling sound-set consisting of what are now known as “Sci-Fi noises” - everything here is of the highest caliber; especially attractive as most of the composers are entirely unknown outside of Hungary other than Pongracz - who split a Deutsche Grammophon “Avant-Garde” series LP with Gottfried-Michael König - and possibly Eötvös; but you’d have to be very knowledgeable.

Totally great found-junkbox cover collage repro’ed here beautifully, as are the liner notes - in four languages - on the gatefold of the booklet inside. The first of, hopefully, many Geographically-specific titles in this fledgeling, mysterious series.